Free tiers, compared
34 offers from 25 vendors · 24 forever free · 10 need no card · checked weekly · Build a free stack
24 of 34 offers
Cloud platforms
4 offersData warehouses and lakehouses
2 offers| Vendor | Offer | What you get | Type | Card needed | Sign up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Serverless workspace, free | Forever free | Not stated | Sign up | ||
| 10 GB + 10 compute hrs | Forever free | Not stated | Sign up |
Databases
6 offers| Vendor | Offer | What you get | Type | Card needed | Sign up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| No-cost plan, no card | Forever free | No | Sign up | ||
| 512 MB, free forever | Forever free | Not stated | Sign up | ||
| 100 projects, 0.5 GB each | Forever free | No | Sign up | ||
| 500 MB Postgres, 50K users | Forever free | Not stated | Sign up | ||
| 100 DBs, 5 GB | Forever free | No | Sign up | ||
| 500K commands a month | Forever free | Not stated | Sign up |
AI and LLM APIs
3 offersVector databases
2 offersHosting, edge and storage
4 offers| Vendor | Offer | What you get | Type | Card needed | Sign up |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 GB, zero egress fees | Forever free | Not stated | Sign up | ||
| 100,000 requests a day | Forever free | No | Sign up | ||
| Free web service + Postgres | Forever free | Not stated | Sign up | ||
| 100 GB transfer a month | Forever free | Not stated | Sign up |
Notebooks and ML
1 offerDeveloper tools
2 offers7 more on their own pages: startup programs and student offers. See also recent changes.
Offers change often; the vendor's page is the final word. Links go straight to the vendor, no affiliate links. Logos via logo.dev; trademarks belong to their owners.
Questions
What is Tier Zero?
A table of the free tiers, trials, credits, student offers and startup programs across data, AI and cloud: Snowflake, Databricks, Google Cloud, AWS, Azure, Gemini, MongoDB Atlas, Supabase, Neon, Vercel, Cloudflare, GitHub Copilot and more. Every offer shows what you get, for how long, whether a card is needed, and links to the vendor's own sign-up and docs.
How much is the Snowflake free trial?
A Snowflake trial account comes with $400 of free usage and lasts 30 days, or until the credits run out. Sign-up needs only an email address; AI features stay off until a card is added.
Which cloud gives the most free credits?
For new accounts: Google Cloud gives $300 for 90 days, Oracle Cloud US$300 for 30 days, AWS up to $200 over a 6-month Free plan, and Azure $200 for 30 days. Startup programs go much higher: up to $350,000 from Google for Startups, $200,000 from AWS Activate and $150,000 from Microsoft for Startups.
Is there a free LLM API?
Yes. The Gemini API free tier makes Flash models free of charge within rate limits (free-tier content is used to improve Google products), Groq has a Free plan with per-model limits, Cloudflare Workers AI gives 10,000 Neurons a day, and Hugging Face gives every free account $0.10 of Inference Providers credit a month.
Which free tiers need no credit card?
Open Filters on the home page and pick "No card needed". Among them: the Snowflake trial, Neon, Turso, Firebase Spark, Cloudflare Workers, the Gemini API free tier, Google Colab and Azure for Students. Offers whose page does not say are marked "not stated" rather than guessed.
How current is this?
Every offer shows the date it was last checked against the vendor's page. A weekly check reads each source page, and when the text changes, the difference is added to the changes timeline, marked Unverified until reviewed. The vendor's page is always the final word.